Choose your language

IRU members elect Radu Dinescu as IRU President
Global | Geneva

IRU members elect Radu Dinescu as IRU President

7 Nov 2019

IRU’s General Assembly today unanimously elected Radu Dinescu to serve as the new IRU President. 

During his acceptance speech, Mr Dinescu said, “I believe in dialogue, sustainability and solidarity. Together, IRU and its members will build the future of the road industry.” He also thanked outgoing President Christian Labrot for his exemplary leadership over the last four years. 

The IRU Transport Councils elected Asli Çalik as President of the Goods Transport Council and Patrick Westelinck as President of the Passenger Transport Council. Both Council Presidents are also IRU's Vice Presidents.


As of 1 January 2020, the new IRU leadership will be: 

Radu Dinescu, UNTRR, Romania

Vice Presidents
Asli Çalik, TOBB, Turkey
Patrick Westelinck, FBAA, Belgium

Other Presidential Executive members
Jan Buczek, ZMPD, Poland
Bekmyrat Eyeberdiev, THADA, Turkmenistan
Eduart Kasa, ANALTIR, Albania
Andrey Kurushin, ASMAP, Russia
Christiane Leonard, BDO, Germany
Erik Oestergaard, DTL, Denmark
Jos Sales, FLEAA, Luxembourg