IRU历史 | IRU
IRU历史

IRU历史

七十年:推动道路运输发展

四十年代:重建欧洲

IRU 成立于日内瓦,旨在帮助饱受二战的欧洲重建被摧毁的贸易与商业联系。IRU 最初由八个欧洲国家的客运与货运道路运输协会联盟,并在刚刚成立的联合国上代表道路运输行业。当时,联合国肩负着为战后新欧洲制定发展框架的任务。  

IRU 于 1949 年创建了 TIR 系统,起初是一份政府间协议,后发展成为全球性公约。TIR 成为促进战后欧洲各国间贸易的工具,而当时各国间的地缘政治关系还非常薄弱。TIR系统使得货物可以便捷地通过不稳定的边境。当时,欧洲正处于经济、社会开始恢复的时期。因此,TIR很大程度地促进了欧洲的经济复苏。 

四十年代:重建欧洲

五十年代:改写道路运输的规则

在联合国为道路运输代言,意味着 IRU 开始了与各政府间的合作,为今后几十年改写道路运输规则奠定的基础。联合国每个与道路运输相关的公约都离不开 IRU 的参与,或由 IRU 发起,这些公约确定了物流和道路运输领域的义务与职责。 

《国际道路货物运输合同公约》 (CMR) 签署于 1956 年。该公约首次明确了从事货物运输私营方的责任与义务。作为 TIR 的补充,该公约至今仍是使用最广泛的发货人、收货人和承运人之间的货运文件。它提供了运输运营记录,包含与承运货物有关的重要信息。 

2008 年 2 月,就电子托运单的使用, CMR 公约补充了一项协议,并为数字化运输与物流的全球战略奠定了基础, 希望在 21 世纪采纳打破陈规的创新举措。 

1959 年,IRU 通过 TIR 与联合国之间结成了合作伙伴关系,成为有史以来首个公私领域的合作典范,这两个组织共同制定了使用 TIR 证从事国际货物运输的联合国公约——《国际公路运输公约》(TIR公约)。IRU 继续管理TIR系统,TIR系统迅速成为跨境道路运输的全球标准。

五十年代:改写道路运输的规则

六十年代:安全通行

IRU会员在全球不断扩展,一些东欧国家开始加入。此时,全球处于社会剧变和文化冲突的特殊时期,IRU始终用独特的全球事业,推动道路运输事业发展。随着西方复苏繁荣,分享最佳实践成为IRU的试金石之一。

IRU在1966年设立了两个奖项,表彰行业英雄事迹,并倡导对安全的重视。这一时期,安全和专业化成为IRU关注的焦点。此后,IRU继续倡导旨在提高道路运输安全的国际标准,并与联合国,国际组织和政府一起制定正式和非正式的行业标准。IRU道路安全、技术事务和法律事务委员会以及危险货物运输政策事务专家工作组,在这一过程中起了关键作用。
 

七十年代:纳入多式联运

七十年代:纳入多式联运

1970 年代,集装箱的出现与标准化又一次变革了货物的运输方式。显然,采用多式联运从事运营已是大势所趋。1975 年新的《TIR公约》 达成,取代了 1959 年的版本,多式联运纳入新公约,TIR成为多式联运的最佳过境工具。只要运输全程中至少有一段使用道路运输即可。

七十年代:适当的模式

八十年代:布鲁塞尔蓝图

 1973年创建的IRU 布鲁塞尔的代表处,直至如今都在欧洲的政策制定过程中占有一席之位。

1980 年代,欧洲议会将欧盟理事会告到欧洲法院,因其未能制定通用的运输政策。欧洲法院于 1985 年 5 月做出裁决,从而最终开启了通用政策的制定进程。 

这项立法推进了单一欧洲市场雏形的形成,成为运输政策的转折点,市场准入与重型商用车辆的运行与停运时间等领域的欧盟规则形成互补。

IRU 为欧盟的政策、提案和立法都有所贡献,促进了道路运输的良好运营环境,确保公平竞争,并致力于确保道路运输行业在整个欧洲的运输、贸易和旅游领域都扮演重要角色。这一宗旨的重要性在后来的英国脱欧、机动性方案和脱碳事件中尤为突显。

IRU 还推出了客车星级分级体系,以改善客运的质量、安全性和舒适度。

八十年代:布鲁塞尔蓝图

九十年代:可持续发展的道路运输

1992 年在里约热内卢召开了第一届地球峰会,182 个国家在会上通过了《二十一世纪议程》(Agenda 21),此后,IRU 成为首个参与联合国关于可持续发展计划的运输行业的国际组织。IRU 在 1996 年通过了其《可持续发展宪章》,并制定了三个“i”战略——在创新、激励和架构基础上实现可持续发展。

之后,IRU 在 “两个 30”(30 by 30) 决议中承诺,整个道路运输行业在 2030 年前减少 30% 的二氧化碳排放量。

IRU 学院是 IRU下属的培训机构,在这个十年结束之际初具雏形,它说明:运输行业专业化是其实现可持续发展的关键所在。诸多成果证明了这一点——对环境与安全的好处、环保驾驶和事故防范培训,还有一些促进繁荣的经济与社会因素,而繁荣得益于更高效的运输体系和更便利的人员流动。

可持续发展始终是 IRU 的重中之重,IRU继续与世界银行、联合国及其他行业的密切合作,致力于实现可持续发展目标,为道路运输行业制定全球可持续发展计划。 

九十年代:可持续发展的道路运输

2000 年代:丝绸之路的基石

随着中国道路运输协会加入 IRU,IRU 逐渐认识到中国是一支越来越重要的新生世界力量,并催生了重振古丝绸之路的概念——新欧亚大陆运输倡议 (NELTI) 应运而生,成为IRU 战略的关键,该倡议旨在将沿欧亚大陆的亚洲与欧洲企业与所有重要世界市场连通起来,并让更多的公众与企业了解由这一陆地桥梁所创造的商机。 

基于从 200,000 次过境中得出的数据,NELTI 研究发现,57% 的运输时间都耗费在了这些过境流程中,因非官方收费使得成本增加了 38%,因此亟需使用TIR过境运输系统来解决这些问题。 

中国的“一带一路”政策将在 2018 年继续推进,IRU 重启古代丝绸之路贸易通道的倡议极具预见性,并取得了实质进展,为改变该地区的过境运输奠定了基础。随着中国2016年正式加入《TIR公约》,TIR已成为中国实现“一带一路”互联互通目标的重要举措之一。

2000 年代:丝绸之路的基石

2010 年代:数字化创新、全球发展和公平竞争环境

道路运输数字化、连通性和自动化的程度越来越高——一场变革刚刚拉开序幕。 

2010 年后,TIR在全球不断发展,中国、印度和巴基斯坦相继加入了 《TIR公约》,这些国家间生活着全球 40% 的人口。 

TIR 目前已具备了数字化和多式联运的全套功能。全球正在形成日前庞大的数字化贸易走廊——这得益于 TIR 和 e-CMR 为数字化运输提供了全球标准。 

联合国通过了一项决议,强调了 e-CMR 在将创新成果应用于实践方面的重要性,并与 IRU 签署了一项重要协议,以支持 TIR 海关过境流程的全数字化进程。

IRU 向新进入改革后出租车市场的参与者倡导“同一服务同一规则”,同时鼓励全面创新。 

由于城市人口构成复杂,公交车和客车作为部分解决方案,可以减少人员流动对环境造成的影响,IRU 的智能出行活动强调了减少排放、创造就业岗位、降低交通死亡率和缓解道路拥堵的益处。

IRU 在成立 70 周年时,在阿曼宣布了其世界大会计划,这是一个旨在应对当前挑战、提供在该行业今后 70 年发展中继续保持创新领先地位解决方案的平台。 

2010 年代:数字化创新、全球发展和公平竞争环境

History | IRU
IRU History

History

Seven decades: driving road transport

The forties: rebuilding Europe

IRU is founded in Geneva to help war-torn Europe rebuild devastated trade and commercial links. It begins with an alliance of national passenger and freight road transport associations from eight European countries, to ensure that the road transport industry is represented at the newly created UN, which has been tasked with putting in place the frameworks for a new, post-war Europe.  

IRU creates the TIR system in 1949 – initially an inter-governmental agreement – it later becomes a global convention. TIR becomes the tool to facilitate post-war inter-European trade – within the context of fragile geopolitical relationships. The customs transit system enables goods to flow across unstable borders as the economies and the communities of Europe begin to recover. TIR becomes a tangible means to strive for prosperity. 

The forties: rebuilding Europe

The fifties: rewriting the rules of road transport

Representing road transport at the UN table means that IRU is able to partner with governments to rewrite the rules of transport for the decades to come. Every UN convention relating to road transport, defining the roles and responsibilities within logistics and road transport, involves or is initiated by IRU. 

The Convention on the Contract for the International Carriage of Goods by Road (CMR) is signed in 1956. This sets out, for the first time, the responsibilities and liabilities of private parties involved in the transport of goods. Complementary to TIR, it is to this day the most widely used document on shipments between senders, receivers and transporters. It provides a record of the transport operation and contains essential information in relation to the load carried. 

In February 2008, a protocol is added to the CMR Convention concerning the use of the electronic consignment note and forms the bedrock of a global strategy to digitalise transport and logistics, as the industry looks to adopt game-changing innovations in the 21st century. 

With TIR, 1959 sees the first historic example of a public private partnership between IRU and the UN, as the two organisations come together to establish the UN Convention on International Transport of Goods Under Cover of TIR Carnets. IRU continues to manage the system, and it quickly becomes the global standard for customs transit.

The fifties: rewriting the rules of road transport

The sixties: safe passage

Expanding IRU membership now includes a number of Eastern European countries, and its reach is growing. IRU adopts a unique, global view of road transport amid a period of social shift and cultural conflict on the global stage. The sharing of best practice becomes one of IRU’s touchstones – as the West moves into a period of greater prosperity. 

IRU establishes two awards in 1966, recognising heroism and, significantly, safety. This represents a key moment, when safety and professionalism become a focus for the organisation. Driving all aspects of its work thereafter, IRU continues to advocate for international standards that improve safety, working with the United Nations, international organisations and government authorities on both formal and informal standards, in particular through IRU’s Commissions on Road Safety, Technical Affairs, Legal Affairs and expert working party on Transporting Dangerous Goods.

The sixties: safe passage

The seventies: the right mode

The advent and standardisation of shipping containers in the 1970s reinvents the way in which goods are transported. The need to operate intermodally is absolute. Replacing the 1959 version, a new TIR Convention is concluded in 1975, ensuring that TIR is the best transit tool for intermodal transport. 

The TIR Convention is restyled to allow for the intermodal transport of goods, provided that at least one leg of the journey is carried out by road. 

The seventies: the right mode

The eighties: Brussels blueprint

With its now established home in Brussels (created in 1973), IRU has a seat at the table of European policy making. The 1980s sees the European Parliament take the Council of the European Union to the European Court of Justice for its failure to develop a common transport policy. The Court’s judgment of May 1985 finally kick-starts progress on a common policy. 

The legislative push towards the single European market heralds a turning point in transport policy, with market access balanced against EU-wide rules in areas such as driving and rest times for heavy commercial vehicles.

IRU contributes to EU policy initiatives and legislation, promoting an economically sound operating environment for road transport, ensuring fair competition, and working to ensure that the road transport industry plays a leading role in mobility, trade and tourism throughout Europe. This mission is later all the more important in the light of Brexit, the Mobility Package and decarbonisation.

IRU also launches its star classification system for coaches to improve quality, safety and comfort in the sector.

The eighties: Brussels blueprint

The nineties: sustaining road transport

Following the 1st Earth Summit in Rio de Janeiro in 1992 where 182 countries adopt Agenda 21, IRU is the first transport organisation to become involved in the UN plan for sustainable development and subsequently makes it a constitutional obligation. Its Charter for Sustainable Development is adopted in 1996 and it develops the the 3 "i" strategy for achieving sustainable development, based on innovation, incentives and infrastructure.

Later, IRU’s “30 by 30” Resolution is a pledge from the entire road transport industry to cut its CO2 emissions by 30% by 2030.

The IRU Academy – the training arm of IRU – is conceived at the end of this decade, reinforcing the message that the professionalisation of the industry is at the heart of its ongoing sustainability. This is reflected in tangible outcomes – such as the benefits to the environment and safety with eco-driving and crash prevention training – as well as the economic and social factors at play with the increased prosperity that results from more efficient transport systems and improved access to personal mobility.

Sustainability remains high on IRU’s agenda and it continues to work closely with the World Bank, the UN and the wider industry on driving sustainability targets and setting the global sustainability agenda for road transport. 

The nineties: sustaining road transport

2000s: Silk Road foundations

With the China Road Transportation Association joining IRU, and knowing that China is an emerging world power, IRU seeds the concept of the revitalisation of the ancient Silk Road. The New Eurasian Land Transport Initiative (NELTI) is conceived as an essential next step in the IRU strategy for interconnecting businesses in Asia and Europe along the Eurasian landmass to all major world markets, as well as increasing public and business awareness of the huge opportunities created by this land bridge. 

Based on data from 200,000 border crossings, the NELTI study finds that 57% of transport time is lost at these crossings, adding to increased costs of 38% due to unofficial levies, highlighting the potential for TIR to counter these issues. 

As China’s One Belt One Road initiative later on moves ahead in 2018, IRU’s longstanding, prescient work to reopen ancient Silk Road trade routes has gathered ground and has set the foundations in place for these recent developments which are transforming trade prospects for the region. Indeed, China places TIR as one of its top priorities for realising OBOR objectives.

2000s: Silk Road foundations

2010s: digital daring, global growth and a level playing field

Road transport becomes increasingly digital, connected and automated: a revolution has begun. 

2010 onwards sees an acceleration of IRU’s global reach, with China, India and Pakistan joining the TIR network. These are just three of the latest countries to ratify the TIR Convention, representing between them 40% of the world’s population. IRU’s expansion efforts go truly global. 
TIR now has full digital and intermodal capabilities. There is a growing web of digital trade corridors inching around the globe – with TIR and e-CMR offering the global standard for digitalised transport. 

The UN adopts a resolution which highlights the importance of e-CMR for bringing innovation to real life and signs a milestone agreement with IRU supporting the full digitalisation of the TIR customs transit procedure.

IRU advocates “same service same rules” for new market entrants to a transformed taxi sector, while encouraging innovation across the board. 

As urban populations multiply, buses and coaches are promoted as part of the solution to reducing the environmental footprint of personal mobility and IRU’s Smartmove campaign highlights the potential benefits to cut emissions, create jobs, reduce road deaths and ease road congestion.

Guiding the industry into the future, IRU announces its World Congress in Oman in its 70th year – a platform to address current challenges and offer solutions to stay ahead of the innovation curve as the industry looks to the next 70 years. 

2010s: digital daring, global growth and a level playing field