التاريخ | IRU
IRU History

التاريخ

سبعة عقود: قيادة النقل الطرقي

الأربعينات: إعادة بناء أوروبا

تم تأسيس IRU في جنيف لمساعدة أوروبا التي مزقتها الحرب على إعادة بناء الروابط التجارية والاقتصادية المدمرة. وبدأت بتحالف لهيئات وطنية لنقل الركاب والبضائع من ثماني دول أوروبية، لضمان تمثيل صناعة النقل الطرقي في الأمم المتحدة، التي كانت منشأة حديثًا وتم تكليفها بوضع أطر عمل جديدة لأوروبا ما بعد الحرب.  

أنشئت IRU نظام TIR في عام 1949 - في البداية كان اتفاقية حكومية دولية – ثم أصبح فيما بعد اتفاقية عالمية. وأصبح TIR أداة لتسهيل التجارة بين البلدان الأوروبية في مرحلة ما بعد الحرب - في سياق العلاقات الجيوسياسية الهشة. ويتيح نظام العبور الجمركي تدفق السلع عبر الحدود غير المستقرة لكي تبدأ الاقتصادات والمجتمعات الأوروبية في التعافي. وأصبح TIR وسيلة ملموسة للسعي من أجل الرخاء. 

الأربعينات: إعادة بناء أوروبا

الخمسينات: إعادة صياغة قواعد النقل الطرقي

إن وضع النقل الطرقي على طاولة الأمم المتحدة يعني أن IRU قادرة على أن تكون شريكا للحكومات في إعادة كتابة قواعد النقل خلال العقود القادمة. ولا شك أن كل اتفاقية للأمم المتحدة تتعلق بالنقل الطرقي، وتحدد الأدوار والمسؤوليات في مجال اللوجستيات والنقل الطرقي،  إما أنها تتضمن IRU أو كانت قد أطلقت من قبلها. 

تم توقيع اتفاقية CMR في عام 1956، وهي تحدد، للمرة الأولى، مسؤوليات والتزامات الأطراف من القطاع الخاص المشاركيين في نقل البضائع. بوصفتها مكملة لـTIR، فإنها حتى يومنا هذا تعد الوثيقة الأكثر استخداما بشأن الشحنات بين المرسلين والمستلمين والناقلين. كما توفر سجلًا لعملية النقل وتحتوي على المعلومات الأساسية المتعلقة بالشحنة المحمّلة. 

في فبراير 2008، تمت إضافة بروتوكول إلى اتفاقية CMR بشأن استخدام بوليصة الشحن الإلكترونية وهو يشكل حجر الزاوية لاستراتيجية عالمية لتطبيق الرقمنة على النقل واللوجستيات، حيث تسعى الصناعة لتبني ابتكارات تغير قواعد اللعبة في القرن الواحد والعشرين. 

باستخدام TIR ، شهد عام 1959 أول مثال تاريخي لشراكة بين القطاعين العام والخاص؛ بين IRU والأمم المتحدة، حيث تجتمع المنظمتان لإنشاء اتفاقية TIR باستخدام TIR Carnets. وتواصل IRU إدارة النظام، وسرعان ما يصبح هو المعيار العالمي لعبور الجمارك.

الخمسينات: إعادة صياغة قواعد النقل الطرقي

الستينات: ممر آمن

أدى توسيع عضوية IRU الآن إلى انضمام عدد من بلدان أوروبا الشرقية، ونطاق وصولها يتزايد. وتتبنى IRU  رؤية عالمية فريدة للنقل الطرقي في فترة من التحول الاجتماعي والصراع الثقافي على الساحة العالمية. وأصبح تبادل أفضل الممارسات أحد سمات IRU حيث ينتقل الغرب إلى فترة ازدهار أكبر.

ووضعت IRU جائزتين في عام 1966، تقديرا للأعمال البطولية، وبالأخص السلامة. ويمثل ذلك لحظة حاسمة، عندما تصبح السلامة والمهنية محل تركيز من جانب المنظمة. ومن منطلق قيادة IRU لجميع جوانب عملها بعد ذلك، فإنها تواصل الدعوة إلى المعايير الدولية التي تعمل على تحسين السلامة والعمل مع الأمم المتحدة والمنظمات الدولية والسلطات الحكومية على كل من المعايير الرسمية وغير الرسمية، لا سيما من خلال لجان IRU المعنية بالسلامة على الطرق والشؤون الفنية والقانونية وفريق عمل الخبراء المعني بنقل البضائع الخطرة، وسياسة النقل.

 

الستينات: ممر آمن

السبعينات: الوسائط المناسبة

من المؤكد أن اختراع حاويات شحن ذات معايير موحدة في السبعينيات أعاد ابتكار الطريقة التي يتم بها نقل البضائع. وإن الحاجة إلى التشغيل بمختلف الوسائط بات أمر حتمي. وقد تم إبرام اتفاقية TIR جديدة في عام 1975-كبديل لنسخة 1959 - لضمان أن TIR هي أفضل وسيلة للنقل العابر متعدد الوسائط. 

وتم إعادة هيكلة اتفاقية TIR للسماح بنقل البضائع بوسائط عدة، شريطة أن يتم تنفيذ مرحلة واحدة على الأقل من الرحلة بطريق بري. 

السبعينات: الوسائط المناسبة

الثمانينات: برنامج بروكسل

بعد تأسيس مقرها الحالي في بروكسل (الذي تم إنشاؤه عام 1973، تتمتع IRU بمقعد على طاولة صنع السياسة الأوروبية. وشهدت الثمانينيات البرلمان الأوروبي وهو يتوجه بمجلس الاتحاد الأوروبي إلى محكمة العدل الأوروبية بسبب فشله في تطوير سياسة نقل مشتركة. وأخيرا شرع حكم المحكمة الصادر في أيار / مايو 1985 في إحراز تقدم في وضع سياسة مشتركة. 

وتبشر الدفعة التشريعية نحو السوق الأوروبية الموحدة بنقطة تحول في سياسة النقل، مع خلق توازن في الوصول للسوق مقابل القواعد المعمول بها على مستوى الاتحاد الأوروبي في مجالات مثل القيادة وأوقات الراحة للمركبات التجارية الثقيلة.

تساهم IRU في تشريعات ومبادرات سياسات الاتحاد الأوروبي، مما يشجع بيئة التشغيل السليمة اقتصاديًا على استخدام النقل الطرقي، وضمان المنافسة العادلة، والعمل على ضمان أن تلعب صناعة النقل الطرقي دورًا رائدًا في التنقل والتجارة والسياحة في جميع أنحاء أوروبا. وتمثل هذه المهمة في وقت لاحق الأهمية القصوى في ضوء خروج بريطانيا من الاتحاد الأوروبي، وحزمة التنقل ونزع الكربون.

كما تطلق IRU نظام التصنيف بالنجوم للمدربين لتحسين الجودة والسلامة والراحة في هذا القطاع.

الثمانينات: برنامج بروكسل

التسعينات: الحفاظ على النقل الطرقي

في أعقاب قمة الأرض الأولى في ريو دي جانيرو في عام 1992 حيث اعتمد 182 بلد جدول أعمال القرن 21، تعتبر IRU أول منظمة نقل تشارك في خطة الأمم المتحدة للتنمية المستدامة وبالتالي تجعلها التزامًا دستوريًا. واعتمد ميثاقها للتنمية المستدامة في عام 1996 وهو يطور الاستراتيجية "3" i لتحقيق التنمية المستدامة، اعتمادا على الابتكار والحوافز والبنية التحتية.

في وقت لاحق، توصلت IRU إلى القرار "30 بـ 30" كتعهد من صناعة النقل الطرقي بأكملها لخفض انبعاثات CO2 بنسبة 30٪ بحلول عام 2030.

تم تصميم أكاديمية IRU - وهي الذراع التدريبية لـ IRU - في نهاية هذا العقد، مما يعزز الرسالة التي تقول إن احترافية الصناعة هي في صميم استدامتها المستمرة. وينعكس ذلك في النتائج الملموسة - مثل الفوائد على البيئة والسلامة من خلال التدريب على القيادة البيئية ومنع الحوادث - فضلاً عن العوامل الاقتصادية والاجتماعية التي تلعب دورها في إطار زيادة الازدهار الذي ينتج عن أنظمة نقل أكثر كفاءة وتحسين الوصول إلى التنقل الشخصي.

ولا تزال الاستدامة من بين أولويات جدول أعمال IRU وهي تواصل العمل بشكل وثيق مع البنك الدولي والأمم المتحدة والصناعة الأوسع نطاقا حول توجيه أهداف الاستدامة ووضع جدول أعمال عالمي بشأن الاستدامة في النقل الطرقي. 

التسعينات: الحفاظ على النقل الطرقي

الألفينات: أسس طريق الحرير

مع انضمام هيئة النقل الطرقي الصينية إلى IRU، ومن منطلق معرفة أن الصين قوة عالمية ناشئة، فإن IRU زرع مفهوم تنشيط طريق الحرير القديم. وتعتبر مبادرة النقل الطرقي الأوروآسي الجديدة (NELTI) خطوة أساسية في استراتيجية IRU لربط الأعمال في آسيا وأوروبا على طول الأراضي الأوروبية الآسيوية بجميع الأسواق العالمية الرئيسية، وكذلك زيادة الوعي العام والتجاري بالفرص الضخمة التي تم إنشاؤها من خلال هذا الجسر البري. 

واستناداً إلى بيانات من 200 ألف نقطة عبور حدودية، توصلت دراسة NELTI إلى أن 57٪ من وقت النقل يضيع عند هذه المعابر، مما أدى إلى زيادة التكاليف بنسبة 38٪ بسبب الرسوم غير الرسمية، مما يسلط الضوء على إمكانات TIR لمواجهة هذه المشكلات. 

مع تقدم مبادرة حزام واحد – طريق واحد الصينية في وقت لاحق في عام 2018، فإن عمل IRU المتميز والمتمثل في إعادة فتح الممرات التجارية لطريق الحرير قد أرسى قواعد هذه التطورات الأخيرة التي تعمل على تحويل الآفاق التجارية للمنطقة. في الواقع، تعتبر الصين TIR واحدة من أهم أولوياتها لتحقيق أهداف OBOR.

الألفينات: أسس طريق الحرير

ما بعد 2010: جرأة  التحول للرقمية، والنمو العالمي، وتكافؤ فرص النجاح

أصبح النقل الطرقي رقميًا ومتصلاً ومميكنا بشكل متزايد: لقد بدأت ثورة. 

شهد عام 2010 زيادة في سرعة وصول IRU إلى النطاق العالمي، في ظل انضمام الصين والهند وباكستان إلى شبكة TIR. وهذه الدول  الثلاثة من أحدث الدول التي صادقت على اتفاقية TIR، وهي تمثل 40٪ من سكان العالم. وتتوسع جهود IRU عالميا بشكل حقيقي. 

ولدى TIR الآن قدرات رقمية ومتعددة الوسائط بشكل كامل. كما أن هناك شبكة متنامية من الممرات التجارية الرقمية في جميع أنحاء العالم - مع TIR وe-CMR التي تقدم المعيار العالمي للنقل الرقمي. 

وتبنت الأمم المتحدة قرارًا يسلط الضوء على أهمية e-CMR لجلب الابتكار إلى الحياة الواقعية والتوقيع على اتفاقية مهمة مع IRU تدعم التحول الرقمي الكامل لإجراءات النقل الجمركي لدى TIR.

وتدافع IRU عن "نفس الخدمات نفس القواعد" بالنسبة للوافدين الجدد في السوق لقطاع سيارات الأجرة المتحولة، مع تشجيع الابتكار في جميع المجالات. 

ومع تضاعف عدد سكان المدن، يتم الترويج للحافلات والمركبات  كجزء من الحل لخفض البصمة البيئية لحركة الأشخاص، وتسلط حملة Smartmove التابعة لـ IRU الضوء على الفوائد المحتملة لخفض الانبعاثات وخلق فرص عمل والحد من الوفيات على الطرق وتخفيف ازدحام الطرق.

بتوجيه الصناعة نحو المستقبل، تعلن IRU عن مؤتمرها العالمي في عمان في عامها السبعين - وهو منصة للتعامل مع التحديات الحالية وتقديم حلول للبقاء في طليعة منحنى الابتكار في الوقت الذي تتطلع فيه الصناعة إلى السنوات السبعين القادمة. 

ما بعد 2010: جرأة  التحول للرقمية، والنمو العالمي، وتكافؤ فرص النجاح

IRU History

History

Seven decades: driving road transport

The forties: rebuilding Europe

IRU was founded in Geneva to help war-torn Europe rebuild devastated trade and commercial links. It began with an alliance of national passenger and freight road transport associations from eight European countries, to ensure that the road transport industry would be represented at the newly created UN, which was tasked with putting in place the frameworks for a new, post-war Europe.  

IRU created the TIR system in 1949 – initially an inter-governmental agreement – it later became a global convention. TIR became the tool to facilitate post-war inter-European trade – within the context of fragile geopolitical relationships. The customs transit system enabled goods to flow across unstable borders as the economies and the communities of Europe began to recover. TIR became a tangible means to strive for prosperity. 

The forties: rebuilding Europe

The fifties: rewriting the rules of road transport

Representing road transport at the UN table meant that IRU was able to partner with governments to rewrite the rules of transport for the decades to come. Every UN convention relating to road transport, defining the roles and responsibilities within logistics and road transport, involved or was initiated by IRU. 

The Convention on the Contract for the International Carriage of Goods by Road (CMR) was signed in 1956. This set out, for the first time, the responsibilities and liabilities of private parties involved in the transport of goods. Complementary to TIR, it is to this day the most widely used document on shipments between senders, receivers and transporters. It provides a record of the transport operation and contains essential information in relation to the load carried. 

In February 2008, a protocol was added to the CMR Convention concerning the use of the electronic consignment note and it forms the bedrock of a global strategy to digitalise transport and logistics, as the industry looks to adopt game-changing innovations in the 21st century. 

With TIR, 1959 saw the first historic example of a public private partnership between IRU and the UN, as the two organisations came together to establish the UN Convention on International Transport of Goods Under Cover of TIR Carnets. IRU continued to manage the system, and it quickly became the global standard for customs transit.

The fifties: rewriting the rules of road transport

The sixties: safe passage

Expanding IRU membership included a number of Eastern European countries, with its reach growing. IRU adopted a unique, global view of road transport amid a period of social shift and cultural conflict on the global stage. The sharing of best practice became one of IRU’s touchstones – as the West moved into a period of greater prosperity. 

IRU established two awards in 1966, recognising heroism and, significantly, safety. This represented a key moment, when safety and professionalism became a focus for the organisation. Driving all aspects of its work thereafter, IRU continues to advocate for international standards that improve safety, working with the United Nations, international organisations and government authorities on both formal and informal standards, in particular through IRU’s Commissions on Road Safety, Technical Affairs, Legal Affairs and expert working party on Transporting Dangerous Goods.

The sixties: safe passage

The seventies: the right mode

The advent and standardisation of shipping containers in the 1970s reinvented the way that goods were transported. The need to operate intermodally was absolute. Replacing the 1959 version, a new TIR Convention was concluded in 1975, ensuring that TIR became the best transit tool for intermodal transport. 

The TIR Convention was restyled to allow for the intermodal transport of goods, provided that at least one leg of the journey is carried out by road. 

The seventies: the right mode

The eighties: Brussels blueprint

With its established home in Brussels (created in 1973), IRU had a seat at the table of European policy making. The 1980s saw the European Parliament take the Council of the European Union to the European Court of Justice for its failure to develop a common transport policy. The Court’s judgment of May 1985 finally kick-started progress on a common policy. 

The legislative push towards the single European market heralded a turning point in transport policy, with market access balanced against EU-wide rules in areas such as driving and rest times for heavy commercial vehicles. IRU also launched its star classification system for coaches to improve quality, safety and comfort in the sector.

IRU continues to contribute to EU policy initiatives and legislation, promoting an economically sound operating environment for road transport, ensuring fair competition, and seeking a road transport industry that plays a leading role in mobility, trade and tourism throughout Europe. This mission is all the more important in the light of recent issues such as Brexit, the Mobility Package and decarbonisation.

 

The eighties: Brussels blueprint

The nineties: sustaining road transport

Following the 1st Earth Summit in Rio de Janeiro in 1992 where 182 countries adopted Agenda 21, IRU was the first transport organisation to become involved in the UN plan for sustainable development and subsequently made it a constitutional obligation. Its Charter for Sustainable Development was adopted in 1996 and it developed the the 3 "i" strategy for achieving sustainable development, based on innovation, incentives and infrastructure.

Later, IRU’s “30 by 30” Resolution became a pledge from the entire road transport industry to cut its CO2 emissions by 30% by 2030.

The IRU Academy – the training arm of IRU – was conceived at the end of this decade, reinforcing the message that the professionalisation of the industry is at the heart of its ongoing sustainability. This was reflected in tangible outcomes – such as the benefits to the environment and safety with eco-driving and crash prevention training – as well as the economic and social factors at play with the increased prosperity that results from more efficient transport systems and improved access to personal mobility.

Sustainability remains high on IRU’s agenda and it continues to work closely with the World Bank, the UN and the wider industry on driving sustainability targets and setting the global sustainability agenda for road transport. 

The nineties: sustaining road transport

2000s: Silk Road foundations

With the China Road Transportation Association joining IRU, and knowing that China is an emerging world power, IRU seeded the concept of the revitalisation of the ancient Silk Road. The New Eurasian Land Transport Initiative (NELTI) was conceived as an essential next step in the IRU strategy for interconnecting businesses in Asia and Europe along the Eurasian landmass to all major world markets, as well as increasing public and business awareness of the huge opportunities created by this land bridge. 

Based on data from 200,000 border crossings, the NELTI study found that 57% of transport time is lost at these crossings, adding to increased costs of 38% due to unofficial levies, highlighting the potential for TIR to counter these issues. 

As China’s One Belt One Road initiative now moves ahead, IRU’s longstanding, prescient work to reopen ancient Silk Road trade routes has gathered ground and has set the foundations in place for recent developments which are transforming trade prospects for the region. Indeed, China is using TIR to realise OBOR objectives.

2000s: Silk Road foundations

2010s: digital daring, global growth and a level playing field

Road transport was becoming increasingly digital, connected and automated: a revolution had begun. 

2010 onwards has seen an acceleration of IRU’s global reach, with China, India and Pakistan joining the TIR network. These are just three of the latest countries to ratify the TIR Convention, representing between them 40% of the world’s population. IRU’s expansion efforts have gone truly global. 

TIR now has full digital and intermodal capabilities. There is a growing web of digital trade corridors inching around the globe – with TIR and e-CMR offering the global standard for digitalised transport. 

The UN has adopted a resolution which highlights the importance of e-CMR for bringing innovation to real life and signed a milestone agreement with IRU supporting the full digitalisation of the TIR customs transit procedure.

IRU has been advocating “same service same rules” for new market entrants to a transformed taxi sector, while encouraging innovation across the board. 

As urban populations multiply, buses and coaches are promoted as part of the solution to reducing the environmental footprint of personal mobility and IRU’s Smartmove campaign has highlighted the potential benefits to cut emissions, create jobs, reduce road deaths and ease road congestion.

Guiding the industry into the future, IRU's World Congress in Oman in 2018 – its 70th year – will be a platform to address current challenges and offer solutions to stay ahead of the innovation curve as the industry looks to the next 70 years. 

2010s: digital daring, global growth and a level playing field