IRU in Asia Pacific

IRU 在亚太地区

地区剪影

亚太地区国家的道路运输事业处于不同的发展阶段。有的国家像中国一样已经建立起了优质的基础设施网络,也有的国家像老挝共和国一样交通基础设施尚不发达。在这些国家的公路上跨境行驶的车辆,虽然满足了一个国家的标准,但不能满足邻国的标准,还可能在宽度和高度上与欧洲同类型车辆有所不同。

中国交通部目前正在研究如何实现车辆标准统一,同时也在努力统一中国与邻国的技术标准。亚太地区的主要问题是地区内的国家之间没有签订足够的促进国际贸易发展的多边或双边协议。

近期发展——中国已加入《TIR 公约》

中国于2016年7月5日正式加入《TIR 公约》,目前正在与中国海关积极配合,希望TIR系统在中国早日实施;随着IRU在中国取得积极进展,IRU 也在亚太地区积极拓展中国邻国市场,鼓励他们考虑加入《TIR 公约》,这是 IRU 为促进地区贸易便利化所做的努力。同时,中国正在积极研究其他联合国公约,如国际公路货物运输合同公约(CMR)和危险品国际公路运输欧洲协议(ADR)。

Asia Pacific overview

贸易倡议——“一带一路”

“一带一路”即现代丝绸之路。丝绸之路在古代是连接中国与欧亚各国的贸易路线。如今,由于陆路和海陆的联系日益紧密且方便快捷,这条现代丝绸之路成为了中国与其邻国以及更遥远的国家之间的贸易桥梁。中国加入 《TIR 公约》对于新丝路而言就像是终于补齐了拼图缺失的那一块图片一样,因为这条新贸易路线上的其他大部分国家都已经是《TIR 公约》的缔约国了。

在亚太地区发展《TIR 公约》的经济效益

近期,IRU和联合国亚洲及太平洋经济社会委员会(UNESCAP)共同进行了一项研究,突出强调了在亚太地区(尤其是在柬埔寨、印度、印度尼西亚、日本、老挝共和国、缅甸、韩国、泰国和越南)引进和使用《TIR 公约》 所带来的初步效益。由于这九个国家共计占全球贸易进出口的比例惊人——13%(2013 年),所以执行连贯、权威的多边公约(例如 《TIR 公约》)将为这九个经济体节省大量资金,为他们带来几大好处。该研究指出了这些国家加入《TIR 公约》的经济动机,也列出了他们所面临的挑战,包括取消国际运输许可证/配额体系、相互认可车辆技术证书、允许运输车辆行使暂准进口权、改进和调整海关的工作方法以消化理解TIR 要求和工作模式、整体改善边境过境条件、发展强大的国家级运输行业协会、制定高效的国家财务和保险计划、促进行业职业培训的发展等。IRU 已经向多国地政府介绍了该研究结果,并鼓励他们积极考虑加入《TIR 公约》,从而该地区促进贸易和商业发展。

Asia Pacific overview

南亚

由于南亚人口众多,因此发展道路运输在促进贸易及货运,改善社区出行等方便潜力巨大。2015 年,不丹、孟加拉国、印度和尼泊尔 (BBIN) 签署了“机动车协议 (Motor Vehicle Agreement)”,旨在促进该地区的客运和货运发展。包括《TIR公约》在内的联合国道路运输公约以及其他国际标准和最佳实践可以帮助该地区有效地执行 BBIN 协议。在此背景下,IRU已经表示可以为促进该地区道路运输和过境发展提供支持。TIR系统的多式联运囊括了陆运、海运和空运,该地区可以通过TIR系统与世界其他地区相连接。

更好的商务发展

2016年9月,中国在杭州组织举办了二十国集团峰会,并征求了 B20(二十国集团工商界)的意见。IRU 也是 B20 成员之一,我们通过 B20 向 G20 国家做出了建议,并敦促各国签署连各国各项贸易便利化公约——如 TIR 公约。

使用TIR证进行的多式联运可以让这些国家和走廊实现互连互通。

IRU 会员培训

中国道路运输协会(CRTA)代表1000家中国最大的道路运输公司,于2002 年成为 IRU 会员。IRU 在中国的代表处正在积极拓展新会员。同时,“可持续交通”是我们正与中国相关部委讨论的主题之一,IRU 学院正在计划在中国开展有关可持续交通的培训。

培训和能力培养

IRU 学院在经济合作组织 (ECO)区域非常活跃,拥有几家授权培训机构(ATI)。IRU 的政策是加强该地区的培训并将范围扩大到南亚地区。
 

Share

IRU in Asia Pacific
IRU in Asia Pacific

Regional snapshot

Countries in this region are at different stages of development in terms of road transport. There are countries like China, which has built up a network of high quality infrastructure, and countries such as Lao PDR, where traffic infrastructure is less developed.  On these roads are vehicles driving cross-border and which, although they meet standards in one country, do not match those in neighbouring countries and which also may be different in width and height to their EU counterparts.

The Chinese transport ministry is currently researching changes required to achieve vehicle conformity, and is also addressing the harmonisation of technical standards between China and its neighbours. Non-physical challenges in the region include addressing bureaucratic ‘grey areas’ such as corruption activity at border crossing points and enroute, and a lack of sufficient multi-lateral or bi-lateral agreements between the countries in the region, which would facilitate international trade.

Recent developments – China poised to join TIR

China has recently acceded to the TIR Convention; the country made great progress since 2015, with all relevant government ministries formally approving the country’s adherence to this international trade system. With the positive progress in China, IRU in the Asia Pacific region is also in discussions with China’s neighbouring countries, encouraging them to consider acceding to TIR, and this is part of IRU’s work on trade facilitation. Elsewhere, China is actively studying other UN Conventions including CMR (Contract for the International Carriage of Goods by Road) and ADR (European Agreement concerning the International Carriage of Dangerous Goods by Road).

Asia Pacific overview

Trade initiatives – ‘One Belt, One Road’

‘One Belt, One Road’ is the name given to the modern-day Silk Road, the ancient trade route that previously linked China with its Eurasian counterparts, and which, thanks to better connections by road and by sea is opening up the trade bridge between China and its neighbours, and countries farther away. China’s accession to TIR has been the missing piece of the jigsaw in this part of the ‘belt’, as most of the other countries along this new trade route are already TIR contracting parties.

Economic benefits of developing TIR in Asia Pacific

A recent study conducted between IRU and UNESCAP (United Nations’ Economic and Social Commission for Asia Pacific) highlights the initial benefits of introducing TIR across Asia Pacific, notably within Cambodia, India, Indonesia, Japan, Lao PDR, Myanmar, Republic of Korea, Thailand and Vietnam. As these nine countries together represented a staggering 13% of the world’s trade import and exports (in 2013), implementing a coherent, recognised and renowned multilateral transport convention, such as TIR would bring great benefits and important savings to the nine economies. The study outlines the economic motives for these countries as well as the challenges faced, which include eliminating international transport permit/quota systems, mutual recognition of vehicle technical certificates, implementation of temporary importation rights in respect of transport vehicles, improvement and adjustment of customs working methods to absorb TIR requirements and working patterns, general improvement of border crossing conditions, development of strong national transport industry associations, creation of efficient national financial and insurances schemes, improvement of industry professional training and so on. The study was presented to local governments to encourage them to prepare the ground for accession to TIR, in a bid to boost trade and commerce.

Asia Pacific overview

South Asia

Due to the large population in South Asia there is huge potential for road transport in terms of trade, freight logistics and improving mobility for millions of communities. In 2015, Bhutan, Bangladesh, India and Nepal (BBIN) signed the Motor Vehicle Agreement to facilitate passenger and goods transport in the region. To this end, UN road transport conventions such as the TIR Convention and other global standards and best practices could help this region to implement the BBIN Agreement effectively. In this context, IRU has expressed its readiness to support this region to promote road transport and transit. The intermodal aspect of the TIR System, encompassing rail, sea and air could also play an important role to connect this region to other parts of the world under the TIR System.

Better business

In September 2016, China hosted the G20 summit in Hangzhou, and solicited suggestions from  ‘B20’ (‘Business20’) of which IRU is a member. We used our presence within this group to make recommendations to countries within the G20 and urged them to sign up to United Nations’ trade facilitation conventions, such as TIR.

Under the intermodal aspect of the TIR Convention, all of these countries and corridors connect to each other.
 

IRU members trainings

The China Road Transport Association (CRTA), represents over 1,000 of China’s largest road transport operators, and has been an IRU member since 2002. Local IRU delegates are forging relations with new Associate Members, primarily in the field of sustainability, and this is also a topic being discussed with the Chinese Ministry of Transport to conduct sustainability training in IRU Academy institutions on the ground.

Training and capacity building

The IRU Academy is very active in the Economic Cooperation Organization (ECO) region with several ATIs (Associate Training Institutes) in the region.  IRU policy is to promote its training here, and will expand its activities to South Asia.

 

Share