road transport and economic growth

الاقتصاد

النقل الطرقي: يقود الاقتصاد العالمي

كيف يُساهم النقل الطرقي في الاقتصاد العالمي؟

قد لا تبدو هذه الصناعة قاطرة اقتصادية واضحة لكن، بدون النقل على الطرق، لما كان للمصنعين المنتجات والمكوّنات، ولما استلم المستهلكون السلع، ولما كان بوسع مؤسسات الأعمال المتاجرة دولياً. يلعب النقل الطرقي دوراً حيوياً في التجارة الدولية.
بدون النقل الطرقي وطريقة سالمة، سلسة وآمنة لنقل السلع حول العالم، لكانت الاقتصادات ستنهار بسرعة. يعتمد العالم على النقل الطرقي لنقل الوقود إلى محطات الخدمة، لأخذ السلع إلى محلات السوبر ماركت، لتلبية طلباتنا على الانترنت، لربط مؤسسات الأعمال المنتشرة على نحو واسع مع العالم ولإيصال سلعها إلى المقاصد العالمية.
التفويض الجوهري للاتحاد الدولي للنقل الطرقي (IRU) بصفته الهيئة العالمية لصناعة النقل هو تسهيل النقل الطرقي، لكننا نفعل أكثر بكثير من ذلك.

  • نساعد البلدان الجديدة على المتاجرة بواسطة الطرق. اننا نعمل مع الحكومات وغرف التجارة لمعالجة القضايا حول البنية التحتية، وفتح الطرق التجارية الجديدة وجعل السفر من بلد إلى آخر أسهل.
  • نحن نعلم ان الانبعاثات هاجس أساسي في المحادثات العالمية حول تغيّر المناخ، ونريد ان يكون النقل الطرقي جزءاً من الحل، وليس المشكلة. اننا نتشارك مع المصنعين ومع مُشغلي النقل لإنتاج المركبات الأكثر اخضراراً ممكناً وإبقاء انبعاثات الكربون مُتدنية.
  • نريد ان تكون صناعة النقل الطرقي مرادفة للسائقين السالمين الحسني الاطلاع القادرين على نقل كافة أنواع السلع حول العالم. نريد أيضاً ان يكون هؤلاء السائقين وشركات أعمال الشحن متحرّرين من التهديد، الخطر والفساد. لهذا السبب يُشكل IRU أول مرجع تلجأ إليه أسرة القيادة، مُقدماً مقررات تعليمية حول السلامة، تناول السلع والفعالية الإيكولوجية عبر أكاديمية IRU، وضامناً كون صناعة النقل الطرقي لاعب أساسي في القضاء على الفساد.

اقرأ حول بعض المبادرات المُعيّنة التي يقودها IRU والتي تساهم بصورة كبيرة في الاقتصادات النامية.

من الصين إلى أوروبا - إعادة فتح طريق الحرير

لقد عمل IRU جاهداً لإعادة فتح طريق الحرير القديمة: الـ 50.000 كيلومتر التي تربط آسيا بأوروبا. سوف تربط هذه الطريق كل مؤسسة أعمال بكل سوق عالمية كبرى وستجعل العالم أقرب إلى تحقيق أهداف ألفيّة التنمية التابعة للأمم المتحدة على المساحة الجغرافية الأورواسيوية الهائلة. سوف يخفف فتح شبكات الطرق في هذه المنطقة الشاسعة الازدحام في الموانئ البحرية ويُمكّن البلدان المحوطة بالأرض من الاستمتاع بنمو اقتصادي كبير - وهو عامل أساسي في استتباب الانسجام السياسي والاجتماعي الأفضل.

لقد ضمّت منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والاتحاد الدولي للنقل الطرقي قواهما لأجل تطوير أكبر للنقل الطرقي الأورو - آسيوي ولتنشيط التجارة والتعاون الاقتصادي داخل المنطقة ومع باقي العالم. تدعم سبعة بلدان أعضاء في منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي (ECO) أفغانستان، أذربيجان، إيران، باكستان، طدجيكستان، تركيا وتركمانستان) مبادرة "من إسلام أباد إلى اسطنبول".

لأن الفساد يؤذي التجارة: مبادرة مقاومة الفساد

يعمل IRU يداً بيد مع الميثاق العالمي للأمم المتحدة (UNGC) للقيام بدور قيادي في المبادرة العالمية المقاومة للفساد. يؤذي الفساد والممارسات غير المشروعة التجارة العالمية ويجعل من الأصعب التطور بالنسبة للاقتصادات الوطنية. يزيد الفساد الشكوك القانونية والعملانية، ويضيف تكاليف إضافية على كامل سلسلة الإمدادات، وفي نهاية المطاف، على المنتجات التي تصل إلى المستخدِم الأخير. نظراً إلى التبعات السلبية الاقتصادية والسياسية الهائلة الحاصلة جراء الفساد، أصبحت مكافحة هذه الممارسات إحدى القضايا ذات الأولوية بالنسبة للحكومات والمنظمات الدولية.

يقدر البنك الدولي ان 1.3 تريليون دولار أميركي تُفقد عالمياً كل سنة عبر الفساد

  • مزيد من البيانات حول الفساد على طول الممرات العالمية الكبرى للنقل الطرقي متوفر في دراستنا لسنة 2014، التي تَشَاركنا فيها مع المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي ومجموعات الدول الثمانية G8 / والدول العشرين G20.
  • المثال حول كيفية معالجتنا للفساد وما الذي يستطيع أعضاؤنا فعله مُفسّر في دراستنا للحالة حول مكافحة الفساد في أورواسيا.
  • ماذا يمكنكم فعله؟ انضموا إلى مجموعة مقاومة الفساد واطلعوا على موقع الميثاق العالمي للأمم المتحدة على الانترنت.

فيديو مبادرة مكافحة الفساد

هل أنت مستعد للإنضمام؟

أصبح عضو في IRU

Share

road transport and economic growth

Economy

Road Transport: a global economic driver

How does road transport contribute to the global economy?

This industry may not seem like an obvious economic driver but, without transport by road, manufacturers wouldn’t have products and components, consumers wouldn’t receive goods, and businesses wouldn’t be able to trade internationally. Road transport plays a vital role in world commerce.

Without road transport and a safe, seamless, secure way to transport goods around the world, economies would soon collapse. The world relies on road transport to carry fuel to service stations, to take goods to supermarkets, to fulfil our online orders, to enable far-flung businesses to connect with the world, and get their goods to global destinations.

As the world body for the transport industry, IRU’s core mandate is to facilitate road transport, but we also do much more than this:

  • We help new countries to trade by road. We work with governments and chambers of commerce to address issues around infrastructure, open up new trade routes and make it easier to travel from one country to another.

  • We know that emissions are a key concern in the global conversation around climate change, and we want road transport to be part of the solution, not the problem. We partner with manufacturers and transport operators to create the greenest possible vehicles and keep carbon emissions down.

  • We want the road transport industry to be synonymous with safe, knowledgeable drivers who can transport all kinds of goods around the world. We also want these drivers and cargo businesses to be free from threat, danger and corruption. This is why IRU is the first port of call for the driving community, offering courses on safety, cargo handling and eco-efficiency through the IRU Academy, and ensuring that the road transport industry is a key player in stamping out corruption.

Read about some specific initiatives led by IRU that significantly contribute to growing economies:

China to Europe – re-opening the Silk Road

IRU has been working very hard to reopen the ancient Silk Road: the 50,000 kilometres that connects Asia to Europe. This route would interconnect every business to every major world market and bring the world closer to achieving the UN Millennium Development Goals on the Eurasian landmass. Opening up road networks in this vast region will also ease congestion at maritime ports and enable landlocked countries to enjoy significant economic growth – a key factor in bringing about greater political and social harmony.

  • Read about the ECO-IRU Silk Road Truck Caravan
    The Economic Cooperation Organization and IRU have joined forces to further develop Euro-Asian road transport and strengthen trade and economic cooperation within the region and with the rest of the world. Seven ECO member countries (Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Iran, Pakistan, Tajikistan, Turkey and Turkmenistan) are supporting the ‘From Islamabad to Istanbul’ initiative. 

Because corruption harms commerce: Anti-Corruption Initiative

IRU works hand-in-hand with the United Nations Global Compact (UNGC) to spearhead the global Anti-Corruption Initiative. Corruption and illicit practices harm international trade and make it harder for national economies to develop. Corruption increases legal and operational uncertainty, and adds additional costs to the entire logistics chain and, ultimately, end user products. Due to the hugely negative economic and political consequences incurred through corruption, fighting these practices has become one of the priority issues for governments and international organisations.

The World Bank estimates that USD 1.6 trillion is lost globally each year through corruption

  • More data about corruption along the world’s major road transport corridors is available in our 2014 study, which we shared with the World Economic Forum and the G8 / G20 Groups. 

  • An example on how we tackle corruption and what our Members can do is explained in our case study on fighting corruption in Eurasia

  • What can you do? Join the Anti-Corruption Group and get informed on the United Nations Global Compact website.

Anti-corruption initiative video

Ready to join us?

Become our member

Become an IRU Member

Reasons to join

Share